Skip to content

The ATRF is the
principal transport
research conference
in Australia and
New Zealand.

History of the ATRF

The Australasian Transport Research Forum (ATRF) was originally established in 1975 as the Australian Transport Research Forum. In 1988 the Forum was expanded to include New Zealand and the South Pacific and rebadged accordingly. The ATRF was incorporated as a registered association in June 2017.

Hosting arrangements of the Australasian Transport Research Forum (ATRF) have historically been shared by transport-related government agencies and transport-focussed academic departments, on broadly rotating geographic basis. The table below in lists all previous conference locations and host organisations.

The J H Taplin award, established in 1991, is presented to the author(s) adjudged to have delivered the best paper and presentation at the conference. The David Willis award, established in 1998, is presented to the author(s) adjudged to have delivered the best paper and presentation by a young researcher at the conference. Previous recipients of the J H Taplin and David Willis awards are also listed in the table below.

Year No. Place John H Taplin Prize
(from 1991)
David Willis Memorial Prize
(from 1998)
Host organisation
1975 1st Sydney     Bureau of Transport Economics
1976 2nd Adelaide     SA Department of Transport
1977 3rd Melbourne     Vic Ministry of Transport
1978 4th Perth     WA Office of the Director-General of Transport
1979 5th Sydney     NSW Ministry of Transport
1980 6th Brisbane     Metropolitan Transit Authority, Brisbane
1981 Not held     Not held     Not held
1982 7th Hobart     Transport Tasmania
1983 8th Canberra     Bureau of Transport Economics
1984 9th Adelaide     SA Department of Transport
1985 10th Melbourne     Australian Road Research Board
1986 11th Darwin     NT Department of Transport and Works
1987 12th Brisbane     Qld Transport Department
1988* 13th Christchurch     NZ Ministry of Transport
1989 14th Perth     WA Department of Transport
1990 15th Sydney     NSW Department of Transport
1991 16th Hobart Ian Ker, Lance Chambers   Tas Department of Roads and Transport
1992 17th Canberra Peter Forsyth   Bureau of Transport and Communications Economics
1993 18th Gold Coast Neil Gentle, Stephen Wheatstone   University of Queensland
1994 19th Lorne (TAS) Ian Radbone   Transport Research Centre
1995 Not held Not held Not held   Not held
1996 20th Auckland Damien Yeo   NZ  Ministry of Transport
1997 21st Adelaide David Bray, Peter Tisato   Transport Systems Centre, University of SA
1998 22nd Sydney Vivian Salim Stuart Clement NSW Department of Transport; Institute of Transport Studies, University of Sydney
1999 23rd Perth Upali Vandebona Craig McPherson WA Department of Transport
2000 Not held Not held Not held Not held Not held
2001 24th Hobart Michael Yeates Rochelle Bowler, Michelle McCormick Tas Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources
2002 25th Canberra Mark Harvey Min Xu Bureau of Transport and Regional Economics
2003 26th Wellington Charles Sullivan, Carolyn OFallon Nathan Harper Greater Wellington Regional Council; Transit NZ; Transfund NZ; NZ Ministry of Transport
2004 27th Adelaide Clare Rees, Anna Lyth Nikolaos Vogiatzis SA Department of Transport & Urban Planning; Transport Systems Centre, University of SA
2005 28th Sydney Neil Douglas, George Karpouzis Rita Seethaler Transport and Population Data Centre; NSW Department of Planning
2006 29th Gold Coast Jago Dodson, Neil Sipe  Andrew Collins Queensland Transport
2007 30th Melbourne Lloyd Davis Sumeet Jaiswal Department of Infrastructure (Victoria), Institute of Transport Studies (Monash University)
2008 31st Gold Coast Gavin Alford, Jeremy Whiteman  Demi Chung Department of Transport (Victoria), Institute of Transport Studies (Monash University)
2009 32nd Auckland Peter Jones,
Natalya Boujenko
Sara Moridpour  NZ Ministry of Transport
2010 33rd Canberra David Mitchell Daniel Veryard Bureau of Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Economics
2011 34th Adelaide Markus Botte and Doina Olaru Ahmad Tavassoli Hojati South Australian Department for Transport, Energy and Infrastructure; University of South Australia
2012 35th Perth Chinh Ho and Corinne Mulley Chi-Hong Tsai, Corinne Mulley & Geoffrey Clifton WA Department of Transport
2013 36th Brisbane The University of Queensland; Queensland University of Technology; Griffith University
2014 Not held Not held Not held Not held Not held
2015 37th Sydney Chris Loader, Naomi Langdon, Effie Robotis Edward Robson Bureau of Statistics and Analytics, Transport for NSW; rCITI, University of NSW
2016 38th Melbourne Marion Terrill, Brendan Coates and Lucille Danks Mohadeseh Rahbar, Mahmoud Mesbah, Mark Hickman and Ahmad Tavassoli Monash University/Victorian Government through (DEDJTR & VicRoads) in cooperation with ARRB
2017 39th Auckland Graham Currie and Chris De Gruyter Alexa Delbosc, Rahman Shafi, Dinith Wanninayake and Joseph Mascaro University of Auckland, Auckland Forecasting Centre, NZ Ministry of Transport & NZ Transport Agency
2018 40th Darwin Akshay Vij, Stacey Ryan, Spring Sampson and Susan Harris Yale Wong, David Hensher & Corinne Mulley NT Department of Infrastructure, Planning & Logistics

Measure your impact

Get in-depth stats on who’s been reading your work and keep track of your citations.

Advance your research and
join a community of 20
million scientists